BC Ferries denies non-essential travel as part of COVID-19 restrictions

   April 24, 2021 ,   Cruise Industry

BC Ferries terminals are due to become checkpoints to help limit the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

On Friday, April 23, the provincial government announced new restrictions on non-essential travel. To support those measures, BC Ferries denies travel to customers who do not have a good reason for travelling between Vancouver Island and the mainland.

Travellers will be asked about the reasons for their travel on 6 ferry routes: Departure Bay-Horseshoe Bay, Swartz Bay-Tsawwassen, Duke Point-Tsawwassen, Tsawwassen-southern Gulf Islands, Comox-Powell River, Port Hardy-Prince Rupert.

Port of Prince Rupert (Kaien Island, BC Canada)

Even ferry travellers on other routes, that do not cross regional zones, will be reminded they should be avoiding non-essential travel, the corporation announced in the release.

Mark Collins, BC Ferries president and CEO, said in the release:

“BC Ferries supports doing everything we can to discourage non-essential travel, and this order gives us the legal authority we need to deny travel for non-essential reasons."

BC Ferries will also ask clients making online reservations to specify they are travelling for essential reasons.

No extra voyages are being scheduled over the May long weekend.

We and our partners store and/or access information on a device, such as cookies and process personal data, such as unique identifiers for personalized ads and content and audience insights, as well as to develop and improve products. By clicking “Allow All”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device.