Jayapura (New Guinea Indonesia)

Cruise Port schedule, live map, terminals, news

Jayapura cruise port

Australia - New Zealand - Pacific Ocean Islands

Local Time
2024-06-25 11:10

min: 71 °F (21 °C) / max: 89 °F (32 °C) 83°F
Wind: 81°/ 2.7 m/s  Gust: 2.8 m/sWind: 81°/ 2.7 m/s  Gust: 2.8 m/sLight breeze
2.7 m/s
Min / Max Temperature89 °F / 32 °C
71 °F / 22 °C
  Port Map

Port Jayapura cruise ship schedule shows timetable calendars of all arrival and departure dates by month. The port's schedule lists all ships (in links) with cruises going to or leaving from Jayapura, New Guinea Indonesia. To see the full itineraries (ports of call dates and arrival / departure times) and their lowest rates – just follow the corresponding ship-link.

12 January, 2025
Holland America Cruises cruise linems Noordam07:0015:00

Jayapura is the principal port and the capital of Indonesia's Papua Province, with population over 300,000. The city is on Yos Sudarso Bay/aka Humboldt Bay (New Guinea Island's northern coast) and has land area approx 940 km2 (363 mi). The City borders PNG-Papua New Guinea's Sandaun Province (to the east) and is the largest in Indonesia's New Guinea. In Eastern Indonesia, Jayapura is ranked the country's fourth-largest in terms of economy - following Makassar (Sulawesi), Denpasar (Bali) and Manado (Sulawesi). Jayapura is currently ranked Indonesia's second-most expensive city to live in - following only the capital Jakarta (Java).

The city's economy is dominated by sectors like trade, finances, services, tourism, education, commercial fishing. Jayapura is divided into 5 districts (Muara Tami, Abepura, Heram, Selatan, Utara /listed by land area), the most populous of which is Abepura (~90,000). Only around 1/3 of the Province is inhabited, with the uninhabited land consisting of various terrains (mountains, plateaus, hills, valleys, swamps, protected rainforests).

Dortheys Hiyo Eluay/Sentani Airport (near Lake Sentani) is approx 40 km / 25 mi from downtown. Regular flights connect Jayapura mainly to domestic destinations (Jakarta, Makassar, Surabaya, Denpasar, Biak Island, Merauke, Nabire, Sorong, Manokwari, Timika, Dekai, Oksibil, Wamena, Kaimana). International flights (by PNG Air) connect to Mount Hagen. Sentani Airport also serves cargo aircraft and is the principal entry airport of Indonesian New Guinea.

A highway connects to Skouw (near the Indonesia-PNG border), then continues to Vanimo. The Trans-Papua Highway links to large cities like Sarmi and Wamena. There are plans for future railway connections with Sarmi, Manokwari and Sorong.

As part of the Dutch East Indies (aka Netherlands East-Indies / 1800-1949), in 1910 the city was claimed by The Netherlands and named "Hollandia". In 1945, Hollandia became the capital of Nederlands-Nieuw-Guinea (Dutch colony in 1949-54 and Dutch overseas territory in 1954-62). In 1962, the territory was handed over by The Netherlands to the UN, and Hollandia was renamed "Kota Baru" (New Town). The city officially became part of Indonesia in May 1963.

string(0) ""

Jayapura - user reviews and comments